Memorial Lectures - Department of Chemical Engineering,Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Memorial Lectures
Professor J.B. Lal
(15.01.1910 - 30.11.1970)


Professor J.B. Lal [Brief Biodata] was the founding head (1966 - 69) of Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (formerly known as University of Roorkee), Roorkee.

In the honour of Professor Lal, a lecture series entitled "Professor J.B. Lal memorial lecture series" is started in academic session 2018-19 with the kind support through endowment fund provided by the Dean (Resource and Alumni Affairs), IIT Roorkee. The frequency of lectures in this series may be one to two lectures per year.

Professor J.B. Lal memorial lectures shall be delivered by eminent chemical engineering academicians/researchers/professionals.

The following lectures have been organized under this memorial lecture series:

Date Distinguished Speaker Title of Talk
Mar 02
Dr. Edward L. Cussler Jr. , Emeritus Professor, Chemical Engineering & Material Science, University of Minnesota (USA)

Former President of American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

Recipient of Separation Science Award from American Chemical Society (ACS) and Merryfield Design Award from Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of the Science; Member, National Academy of Engineering

More details >>
The Future of Chemical Engineering Teaching [Flyer || Poster]
Nov 09
Dr. M M. Sharma , Emeritus Professor of Eminence, ICT Mumbai

Fellow of Royal Society, London, Indian Academy of Sciences and Indian National Science Academy; Winner of prestigious S.S. Bhatnagar Prize (1973) in Engineering Sciences and Vishwakarma Medal (1985), and Leverhulme Medal (1996); Awardee of Padma Bhushan (1987) and Padam Vibhushan (2001)  (3rd and 2nd Highest Civilian Honours) by President of India

More details >>
The Exciting World of Chemical Engineering and the Life of a Teacher in a University [Flyer || Poster]
Oct 11
Dr. Ganapati D. Yadav , Vice Chancellor, ICT Mumbai
R.T. Mody Distinguished Professor, Tata Chemicals Darbari Seth Distinguished Professor of Leadership and Innovation, J.C. Bose National Fellow, Padma Shri by President of India (Fourth Highest Civilian Honour)
More details >>
Selectivity Engineering in Valorisation of Biomass, CO2 and water into Chemicals, Materials and Energy [Abstract || Flyer || Poster]
Sep 03
Dr. Devang V. Khakhar , Director, IIT Bombay
Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, IIT Bombay
More details >>
Flow and mixing of granular materials [Abstract || Flyer || Poster]


# # # # # | # # #
Credits : Information Management Group, IIT Roorkee
Copyright © , All Rights Reserved, Institute Computer Centre, IIT Roorkee.